Author Topic: PHPP and the downrating of Lamda values  (Read 4493 times)

Michael George

• AECBmember
  • Green Builder
    • View Profile
PHPP and the downrating of Lamda values
« on: December 15, 2010, 08:19:49 AM »
Hi all, hoping this is the right category for this...

Firstly I have no experience of PHPP,  though I am needing to research a little of it for a paper I am working on.

I have been advised that although the software accepts any inputted lamda values for insulation,  those required for passive house certification must be downrated from published UK values which are themselves based on UK and European calculation methodology. The values which need to be used are based on a German calculation methodolgy.

Putting aside the rights and wrongs and reasons for this alleged downrating is what I have said above accurate? and if so is there a published list of accepted lamda values for insulation?

Also can anyone [briefly] explain the difference between the German calculation method and that used in the UK?

Nick Grant

• AECBmember
    • View Profile
    • Elemental Solutions
Re: PHPP and the downrating of Lamda values
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2010, 09:47:24 AM »
Mike

Someone else may have more time for fuller answer but quick answer is that in the UK it is now acceptable to use EN 90/90 values but in Germany the more pessimistic DIN test is used and not just for Passivhaus.

This is a pragmatic compromise.

Nick

Michael George

• AECBmember
  • Green Builder
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2010, 06:35:08 PM »
Thank you Nick.

Dave Howorth

• AECBmember
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2010, 10:28:56 PM »
The PHPP manual says that the values comply with ISO 6946 and makes no mention of DIN that I can see. It even provides factors to convert R-value-per-inch to a U-value for use in PHPP (lambda = 0.1442/R).