Go to Forum Home General Board Dissertation advice greatly appreciated.

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous

Hi All,

I am in my final year of a BSc in Building Project Management and I am commencing work on my dissertation. My main interest throughout my degree has been sustainable development in construction (either new build or renovation) and in particular the Passivhaus standard.

As this area interests me the most I figure it is an ideal starting point for my dissertation topic. However I am struggling with narrowing things down to a succinct topic title/question. When you start to read around your topics of interest it becomes overwhelming and even harder to pin something down.

If anyone has any advice to give on built environment dissertations or good starting points, I would be incredibly grateful.

Thanking you in advance,

Alex

Mark Siddall
        Participant

Alex
          I've no answers, just questions. It strikes me that project managers are all about process.

What kind of project manager do you want to be?
          How will your dissertation on something “sustainable” help you achieve employment?
          Have you begun to consider what processes can assist or inhibit you delivering sustainable buildings? (It may be that you need to narrow the focus of your dissertation to a particular subject area but it will no doubt be important that you understand that narrower field from the view of your profession.)
          Is there any particular aspect of processes that could be made more “sustainable” that interests you?
          What are the most common failures/defects in process when creating a sustainable buildings? Is there one that looks interesting? (Perhaps use data on legal or insurance claims to help identify processes that go wrong?)

HTH,
          Mark

Anonymous

Hi Mark and thanks for the response.