Go to Forum Home PHPP, SAP & Software The PHPP and ‘natural’ materials?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Hi there,
      I've never used PHPP but am considering having a go…
      However, I firstly had a couple of questions I hoped someone could answer;

Does the software consider thermal mass?

Does the software consider hygroscopicity?

Does the software account for potential movement in some materials?

Would it be possible to accurately model the PH standard using more 'natural' materials and products eg timber, earth, straw or their products eg fibreboard, clayblocks, strawboard, etc? Has this been done?

Essentially, does the PHPP allow the characteristics of these materials and products to be modelled?

Thanks alot,

Matt Bloom

Mark Siddall
      Participant

Matt,
        I've no direct experience of PHPP but I can offer the following:

1) Yes

2) No

3) No (design issue not calculations issue)

4) Yes provided that you know the conductivity of the materials (check out the thread on the S-House in the Building Design section of the forum). NOTE: A key design issue would be to ensure that the materials and technology are suited to airtight design (the results of your airtightness are critical to PH design but you don't model airleakage of specific details in PHPP as this is a technology/design/workmanship issue, again refer to of other thread in the Building Design section of the forum).

5) Depends what you mean by “characteristics.” For energy/thermal characteristics yes other characteristics no.

Mark

Tom Foster
        Participant

I'd say the answer to the point of matt's Q is No – first, Mark says PHPP assumes airtightness and I'd guess (?) struggles with the controversial vapour-breatheability concept too; second Mark says PHPP doesn't model hygroscopicity (nor presumably capillarity nor rate and density of moisture uptake) so won't model the effect of all that in-depth humidity buffering that 'natural' materials claim if used 'breatheable'.